I'm very mediocre, and I'm not getting any better

Discussion in 'General Instruction [BG]' started by Tupac, Oct 31, 2011.

1. Tupac

Tupac

May 5, 2011
    I've been playing for about 5 months now, starting at the beginning of June. Ever since, I've been practicing rigorously, an hour a day. However, I feel like for the past 2 or 3 months, I've hit a wall. It's not normal to hit "the wall" so early in instrument playing. I consider myself VERY sloppy. I can play some difficult songs, like the main riff in YYZ and Lounge Act, but not cleanly. Even simpler riffs I have trouble playing with good time or consistency. If anything, I'm getting worse. What do I do? There must be something inefficient about my practicing. My definition of practice means sitting down for and hour and playing some riffs or trying to figure out new ones. I'm somewhat well-versed in theory, it's my technique that's bothering me big time. Any advice?

2. Ric5

Ric5 Supporting Member

Jan 29, 2008
    Colorado
    I disclose nothing
    get in a band with people who are better than you ...

3. 4StringTheorist

4StringTheorist Supporting Member

I'll echo Ric5 here. Playing with other people is the #1 thing that will improve you.

In terms of your practice time, try to set a more definite goal for that hour+ of time. Say you're wanting to learn a song. Make fully and completely tackling a section of that song your goal for each day: at least to get the notes under your fingers, if not to nail it. Then, after several sessions, when you've learned the notes beginning to end, the next session can be a full on play-through where you begin to focus on cleaning up your execution.

This idea of approaching it methodically can be used for any practice goal you have. Techniques: Want to get better at pick playing? Slap?
    Theory: Want to know more about harmony, scales.. things that can help you write your own lines.
    Pick a single goal and work toward it for that practice session.

4. Doll