1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to post, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

I'm wasting time here....

Discussion in 'Technique [BG]' started by Joe Nerve, Oct 10, 2004.

1. Joe Nerve

Joe Nerve Supporting Member

Oct 7, 2000
    New York City
    Endorsing artist: Musicman basses, Hipshot products
    ....starting a bounch of pointless threads because I'm avoiding doing what I need to do. Finish learning about 10 songs for a rehearsal I have tomorrow with a band I just started playing with.

So I wanted to start a new thread on avoidance, or commitment to practice, or whatever you want to call it. Do you waste more time on the computer than spend productive time practicing the bass? I do. Not the first time I'm posting this. Why do you avoid practicing, if you do? I think I do because I somehow think I'm NOT going to be able to get all the material down that I need to and therefore don't want to face it. A little self defeating, ay? Blah, blah, blah..... I just need to actually get started.

Once I plug my bass in I'll be fine.

How bout ya'll ramble a bit about wasting time when you could be practicing or doing other, more productive things.

2. rllefebv

rllefebv

Oct 17, 2000
    Newberg, Oregon
    I have an audition with a show / horn band in a few hours... Six tunes that I was given on Thursday / Friday that I could be working on getting a bit tighter... I sat down to print out driving directions, surfed to TB, was going to post something but procrastinated until I saw this thread on procrastination :D

-robert

3. Aaron Saunders

Aaron Saunders

Apr 27, 2002
    Ontario