1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

Improving right hand technique

Discussion in 'Technique [BG]' started by FlippinGod, May 1, 2009.

1. Hi to you all,
    I am new to TB and I have already found tons of useful information here, thank you all for this. I play bass for something like ten years, but I always had it just for fun and not serious playing, so I feel like a novice now, when I finally decided to learn how to play. And now the problem:

I am left handed and always took advantage of that (in sports, drumming etc.), but recently I found out that it limits me somehow. I bought a left-handed bass and guitar and realized that while LH guitar is almost fine with me, I am almost unable to play the bass. So I got RH bass and decided to start playing like the rest of the world. BUT - I noticed that my right hand is not able to keep up with the left one (what a surprise), so can you please recommend me some exercises specifically for the right hand technique? I found lots of great ideas here for practicing both hands, but I think I need to pay special attention to my right hand, because it gets really frustrating.

Thank you :)

2. Dogbertday

Dogbertday Commercial User

Jul 10, 2007
    SE Wisconsin
    Blaine Music LLC
    either a buddah rope (slightly thicker than clothes line placed between last fret and strings... play normal licks and it'll strengthen both hands)... or jkust practice slow enought to do it clean, THEN build speed... either way your right hand will catch up

and as always minimize movement as much as possible... let the amp do the heavy lifting

3. Asher S

Asher S

Jan 31, 2008
    MA
    This video might help:

4. unclejane

unclejane Guest

Jul 23, 2008