Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Improving speed?

Discussion in 'Technique [BG]' started by RoyQBiv, Nov 9, 2002.

1. RoyQBiv

RoyQBiv

Nov 8, 2002
    Bellingam, WA
    I've been playing bass for a bit under 6 months, and I think that generally I'm advancing pretty well. However, when I'm playing higher tempo songs, I find that my right hand has trouble keeping up. Do you guys have any ideas for improving my finger speed, or is that just something that comes with time and practice? Does the Gripmaster (is that what it's called?) really help? Please advise.

2. Play scales and arpeggios. Lots of them. Every day.

Mix things up a little, of course. Something I did this summer that really increased my one-string finger speed was play arps on the maj7, dom7, and min7 chords, in all 12 keys, playing either a triplet or four sixteenth notes on each chord tone of the arpeggio. Playing arpeggios with a single sixteenth note on each chord tone increases string crossing speed.

There are some drills out there--John Patitucci's is the most famous--that will make you a better string crosser/skipper in three weeks.

3. JMX

JMX Vorsprung durch Technik

Sep 4, 2000
    Cologne, Germany
    • practice
    • use a lighter touch
    • minimize excess finger movement
    • use raking (playing two adjacent strings with one pluck) when appropriate
    • don't use a gripmaster or finger weights (see no. 2)

4. beermonkey

beermonkey

Sep 26, 2001
    Seattle, WA
  5. RoyQBiv

RoyQBiv

Nov 8, 2002
    Bellingam, WA
    I already try to spend some time on scales everyday...I'll start doing the arpeggios along with the scales. Thanks for the feedback, guys. I'll keep at it.

6. RAM

RAM

May 10, 2000
    Chicago, IL