1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

Improving Technique including muting strings?

Discussion in 'Technique [BG]' started by Jermaine Ramsay, May 28, 2017.

1. Jermaine Ramsay

Jermaine Ramsay

May 6, 2017
    I am a beginner, despite having my bass for about 5-6 months now, I only have 2 months cumulative playing time. I have an idea of some of the notes on the bass, and I do know the patterns for the major scale. As of this moment there are a lot of notes that I can figure out when I take my time to look at the bass and base it off the notes I already have down in my head. I would like to get to the point where I can play by ear any song, also to play fast and cleanly. In addition aside from trying to play by ear, and playing fast my biggest problem is finding a way to mute the strings. Just looking for some advice on how to do these things stated above? I should say that I am playing a 5-string bass.

2. Mushroo

Mushroo Supporting Member

Apr 2, 2007
    Massachusetts, USA
    Welcome to the world of bass!

Generally speaking, I think a "curriculum" or systematic approach to learning (such as lessons with a good teacher, a class at your local conservatory/community college, or even some online Skype lessons) is preferable to "cherry picking" bits of information here and there.

But since you asked a good question, here is my attempt at an answer:

The most popular approach to muting in the year 2017 seems to be this: Your left hand mutes the high strings, and your right hand mutes the low strings. So for example, if you are playing a note on the A string, your left hand fingers can lightly rest on the D and G strings, muting them, and your right hand thumb can lightly rest on the B and E strings, muting them.