Dismiss Notice

Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Improvised Lines

Discussion in 'General Instruction [BG]' started by Lazy, Jan 14, 2002.

1. Lazy

Lazy

May 30, 2001
    Vancouver BC
    I've done a search on this but haven't found anything that was of help.

I started playing bass after 2 years on the guitar because I thought bass would be easier with only 4 strings and all!! Technique came very easily to me and I find I have no problems with the fretboard,picking and even slapping! The problem is that I've somehow made it look like I'm alot better than I actually am! I can play all over the fretboard and solo and all that stuff and my timing is pretty good. So I have no problem playing with myself:D.

But when I'm playing with others, I just can't seem to play anything creative,just the same old root/fifth/octave stuff. I can hear the notes I wanna play in my head, but I can't translate them onto the instrument itself. My question is, is the solution to my problem going to come from more listening to others, fretboard memory, or more understanding of musical theory? I'm really hooped here and am way too stubborn to quit because of this.

P.S. BASS IS HARDER THAN THE GUITAR IMO.
    someone help me get my foot out of my mouth due to my original assumption that it would be easier:(

2. jazzbo

jazzbo

Aug 25, 2000
    San Francisco, CA
    Hey Lazy,

Welcome to the wonderful world of bass. Glad to see you converted! :D I'm not going to sweat you about thinking that the bass was "easier." A lot of people think this. My dad still does. At least a little bit.