1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

Improvised solo for double bass in three parts

Discussion in 'Recordings [DB]' started by damonsmith, Aug 14, 2012.

1. damonsmith

damonsmith

May 10, 2006
    Quincy, MA
    Here is a recent solo:

I feel better about it than usual.
    the preparation/pre-determined ideas were:

1. Not to do one long piece.

2. I took off my quiver, and in the first movement I try to deal with the whole front of the bass, to the end of the tail piece.

3. Instead of an intensive listening schedule of tons and tons of solo recordings, bass and otherwise I studied a single Barre Phillips album (Journal Violone 9)

The first and third movements are pretty abstract but the second is a pretty straight forward pizzicato piece starting about 3:15. You can skip to that if you are squeamish, but it would great if people heard the whole 17 min work.

2. Calebmundy

Calebmundy

Apr 5, 2007
    Nashville
    I listened all the way through. I definitely started with a "hmmmm..." but ended with a quiet "Wow".

Danger area for me since I'm not a regular traveler into purely improvised music. I really dug the way you were exploring all (or least has to be close to all) the sounds the instrument can make across the whole body. Very virtuosic. I really enjoyed it as a total audio and visual performance, I'm not sure I would've gotten it as well as just audio.

Also, I think I caught you incorporating the sound of the door being opened a few times around 15:30? If so, well done. Classy and creative way of dealing with that distraction.

3. damonsmith

damonsmith

May 10, 2006
    Quincy, MA