Dismiss Notice

Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

improvising over changes/playing outside

Discussion in 'Ask Michael Dimin' started by wilser, Apr 12, 2005.

1. I have been playing for over 15 years, almost from the begining being interested in jazz. I started very early on studying jazz harmony and have a pretty good grasp on the effects and relationship of chords. What I have not been able to do is internalize this stuff so to be able to improvise (solo) over jazz chord changes. Although I can blow a pretty decent solo over chords that are in a particular key, I have a very hard time improvising over changes in the jazz way. I have tried transcribing solos, learning the changes before hand, and still I am not able to go from one chord to the next. It is very hard for me to switch modes (not scale modes) from one scale set to the next.

I have recently bought Gary Willis' fingerboard harmony book in the hopes that it'll help me, as his method seems (at first, at least) to target my specific problems.

How do YOU target this concept? I mean, what are you thinking about when you go through chord changes?

Thanks

2. Bassist4Life

Bassist4Life

Dec 17, 2004
    Buffalo, NY
    Wilser,

I know EXACTLY what you are talking about. I was reading your post and I thought, "Wow, I could have composed the same thing!". I am a music educator and a public school orchestra director; however, I struggle with improvisation. I lived off notes on a page for so long that I feel as if I'm learning a different language when I improvise.