1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

In need of advice for bass amps

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by ethans1980, Jun 10, 2007.

1. ethans1980

ethans1980

Jun 10, 2007
    I've owned more than my share of crappy gear, and have overcome bad sound and lack of power through sheer stubborness and playing pretty hard. I'm now finally ready to be an adult and buy a real amp. So let's assume that money is not an issue for now. I am a working pro who plays rock, pop, country, jazz, fusion, brazilian, and latin music. I also do a lot of theatre gigs. After my Carvin head started having real reliability issues, I picked up a Peavey Mark VI head cheap. After lots of speaker cabinet casualties, I'm down to playing through two 1x15" cabs, which started out as Carvin cabs, but now have tougher replacement speakers in them. I also have an Aguilar DB112, which works great for theater and jazz gigs, but not for anything loud. I play a Yamaha TRB5 and a Ken Smith BSR5J fretless. So I'm looking for something that is ridiculously loud, I mean shaking buildings loud, that can handle a B string, and is also responsive. I've been using an EBS Multicomp and a Sansamp to get the amp to respond a little more. I have played an Aguilar DB750 and an Ampeg 450 solid state amp on gigs, and have to admit that I'm not that much of a fan of the Aguilar head. It was a little too clean sounding for my taste. I enjoyed hearing myself on stage with the Ampeg running through an 810E cab, but I'm not so sure about what it sounds like in the back of a club. I truly enjoy the way DJs get that punch in the chest kind of bass, and I guess I'm looking for something like that, with a little more note responsiveness. Sorry for the long winded story. Any advice would be greatly appreciated. THANKS!

2. My suggestion...

Eden!

Eden WT800B/C
    Eden D410XLT
    Eden D210XST