1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

In need of reccomendations on a bass & amp

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by OPIUM-PR, Sep 29, 2009.

1. OPIUM-PR

OPIUM-PR

Sep 15, 2009
    Puerto Rico
    Hello. I'm new to talkbass.com, I registered here because I figured I could learn a lot of about my instrument and by God was I right. Recently I've been wanting to buy a new bass, I have a Washburn XB-100 and a Rogue 20 watt amp. I've been wanting to upgrade to better equips for awhile.

I read a thread here with this set of questions:

1) Metal, rock, alternative, jazz and funk.

2) I enjoy popping and slapping a lot, I mostly play fingerstyle though and if I joined a band I don't think I'd pop and slap a lot. Unless I solo'd :oops:.

3) Planning on buying new equips so I can join a band.

4) I have a budget of $1000. It's more like $500 but it's the money I'll have by December.

I've been thinking about getting a bass like this: http://bass-guitars.musiciansfriend.com/product/Fender-Jaguar-Electric-Bass-Guitar?sku=511959

but would this be a good bass to use if I played Rock? I'm not so sure anymore after reading around in the forum. If I don't get this bass, I really don't have the slightest clue of what bass to get. Set me straight guys, hit me with some knowledge. :bassist:

2. Steve!

Steve!

Nov 5, 2008
    The Jaguar is a good choice.

3. LCW

LCW Banned

Mar 2, 2009
    OREGON!
    Fender jazz bass works good in most of those genres , a MIM standard is 600$. Also sterling by musicman line features a sb14 and ray34 both great basses 600% and 680$ look into those. Amp wise not sure if you could pick up a used peavey bass amp they are great and cheap. I think GK makes some decent afforable amp combos and ampeg as well.

4. Flatty Banks

Flatty Banks

Oct 26, 2008
    California