1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

In need of some direction.

Discussion in 'General Instruction [BG]' started by Noosh, Jun 26, 2012.

1. Noosh

Noosh

May 1, 2006
    North Carolina
    I've been on these forums for quite a few years, but I've never really posted much. I've learned a ton reading through the threads though. I've been playing bass on and off for the better part of 8 years. I Played in various bands that played local for the first 5 or so of those years. But for the last 3 or so years I probably havent picked my bass up 5 times. And in the time I've been playing I've been mostly I'm hard rock bands and just root noted everything the guitar was doing. Maybe a really shakey improv here or there. I was self taught for the most part so I feel like that's why I never really learned much more than that. I really want to start re-learning, so to speak, bass now, but i don't really know where to start, or what exactly all there is to learn. Are there any books or websites you guys could reccomend me?

2. An instructor can get you there much faster than you can doing it alone. Word of mouth, ask bassists in your area who they use. Get on his/her waiting list, if there is not a waiting list keep looking.

I found the following helpful:

Have fun.

3. jon5252

jon5252 Gold Supporting Member

Nov 22, 2009
    Boise Idaho
    Do you really want to play bass? Get a teacher, someone you can connect with. Do the work, it is not easy and can be frustrating at times. Like Jeff Berlin says record yourself playing now, and do it again one year from now. If you chip away at it every day it will blow your mind how much you can progress in a year. It is all up to you, if you want it you will make it happen.

4. Noosh

Noosh

May 1, 2006
    North Carolina