1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

In regards to lessons and electric vs upright.

Discussion in 'Miscellaneous [BG]' started by Buffalo ill, Jun 12, 2014.

1. Buffalo ill

Buffalo ill

Jan 2, 2014
    Idaho
    I currently play electric bass and have decided to look for lessons. The problem is I live in a relatively small town and there doesn't seem to be an abundance of bass instructors. It wouldn't take much effort to find a guitar instructor, and I'm sure a good one could teach me some useful stuff. With that said, I'd like to find someone who could help with bass technique.

I recently contacted my old instructor from my very brief attempt at college. About 14 years have passed since I was a student of his.

In that time I eventually sold my gear to pay bills, and went about a decade without playing. In the last year or so I purchased a bass guitar and have started playing again. My plan is to buy a decent head/cab in the very near future as I currently use a headphone amp. More on this in a moment.

Back to the former teacher, this guy is a really cool cat. He did offer to give lessons and would be a great wealth of knowledge. I could actually learn much about music theory. My big self critique has been my failing in this area. I have always been a "play by ear" kind of guy.

The "problem" if you consider it to be one, is he is an upright bass/cello instructor. I already knew this from being in his class, but I guess I assumed he also taught BG. I mentioned to him I do not own an upright. He offered to help me find something used if I let him know my budget.