Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

in search of a lower tension string that GROWLS!

Discussion in 'Strings [DB]' started by Bibby, Dec 20, 2003.

1. Bibby

Bibby Supporting Member

Aug 24, 2000
    hello all!

i am fairly new to the dark side with about a years worth of playing under my belt. i have played very few basses other than my own.

now that i'm comfortable with my bass i would like to try a new string and try to make my bass sound closer to the sound in my head as well as find 'my tone'.

here are the details to help you wise ones make an informed recommendation. :)

my bass is a 60-80 year old carved german pfretzschner, 3/4. very solid with a fairly thick top. it is currently strung with helicore orchs, med. my impression of the tone is warm and round, kinda tubby. nice sustain. the d and g sound big, but the e and a lack oomph. i play about 70% pizz, 30%arco.

here is what i am looking for. i would like a lower tension string that has more growl and bite and is a little less 'polite'. medium sustain. a punchier e and a would be nice. a sharper focus on pizz sound, but not at the full expense of the bow.

i've scoured the archives and from my notes the pirastro obligs seem like they might be a nice fit. maybe the helicore hybrid lights, though i didn't find much info on those.

so, whaddya think? thanks in advance!

2. Spirocore weichs are rather growly, although the heavier gauges are more so. They're pretty punchy and have nice sustain, too.