In search of that perfect amp...

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by akuma12, Jul 28, 2005.

1. akuma12

Aug 25, 2003
    Sarasota, FL
    So I'm in the market for a new amp (kinda sorta) and I've been trying to find something that fits my budget as well as my style. I'm not a pro by any stretch of the meaning, strictly amateur at the moment, but I desperately need a new amp. My old Peavey Basic 60 is crackling and popping and honestly I'd be embarassed to even drag it to a practice session. I generally like to play jazz, blues, funk, fusion, so I'm kinda looking for a retro, 70's kind of tone.

My bass teacher has suggested a used Eden head and cab, which I've been seriously looking at, but he also suggested a British made Ashdown. I've heard lots of good things about the Chinese made ones, and even better things about the Brit made ones. Anyone have a price range on an approximately 300w Brit made Ashdown head, and what model name I need to look for? I'm trying to limit my budget to around 600-1000 dollars for both head and cab.

Also, what kind of cabinet should I get? 2x10, 1x15, 2x12, 4x10? I'm mostly interested in doing small venue gigs, so I don't need anything blisteringly loud, but I would like some warm, thick, low thump, perhaps with a good tweeter for those nice snappy highs. I also play upright, so I'd need something that could bring out that woodsy tone. Thanks very much for any assistance you can give :)

2. 43% burnt

43% burnt an actor who wants to run the whole show

May 4, 2004
    Bridgeport, CT
    I think you'll find your answer here :)

Edit: You could pick up a new ashdown head w/ an avatar 210 & even a 115 for under $1000. Ashdown Mag 300h- $268, Avatar B210 Neo-$269, Avatar B115H Neo- $249= Total $786+shipping.