Inane Musician Stories

Discussion in 'Miscellaneous [BG]' started by armywalaby, Jan 24, 2009.

1. Lets Share!

I've got a couple here, and they are related to youtube videos. Both are about the same person, a gui****. He can play any Metallica you know, but he's just devoid of any creativity. I told him once (years ago in high school) when we were sitting in English class that I was thinking about learning banjo, and he said something along the lines of "dude why not just get really good at one instrument?' He could never understand why I didn't just follow his root notes either when we formed a metal band....anyway...

#1 -

This is verbatim from an AIM convo. My theory words might not be exact, because I'm still studying it. Anyway...

HIM (3:59:34 PM): yea...anyone can do that tho...lol, oh im just gonna tune my guitar different and play that way as a signature....just be normal man...
    ME (3:59:41 PM): no
    ME (3:59:56 PM): im saying the chords that he gets out of it are pretty cool
    ME (4:00:06 PM): different arrangements and approaches
    HIM (4:00:28 PM): right..
    ME (4:00:33 PM): i like it
    ME (4:02:21 PM): just try it on one of yours
    ME (4:02:25 PM): you might be suprised
    HIM (4:03:08 PM): idk man the odd note he hits sounds like **** to me idk...lol...
    ME (4:03:21 PM): odd note?
    HIM (4:04:34 PM): like 1:25 to 1:37 or so...
    ME (4:05:34 PM): its a modulation
    ME (4:05:52 PM): he's taking one chord and superimposing another chord on it
    ME (4:05:56 PM): its a jazz thing
    HIM (4:05:57 PM): its a piece of ****!
    HIM (4:05:58 PM): lol
    ME (4:06:36 PM): heh...

So, lets share. Your turn.

2. sarcastro83

sarcastro83

Jul 27, 2007
    Toronto, ON
    I jammed with a drummer one time who claimed that he needed to be counted in... said "it helped to keep him on track".

He was a really, really nice guy, so we all just kind of laughed about it.

3. WH0EVER

WH0EVER

Aug 17, 2008
    CT