1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Incorrect Fretting Hand Technique?

Discussion in 'Technique [BG]' started by BeeLamp, Dec 23, 2019.

1. BeeLamp

BeeLamp

Dec 23, 2019
    Hi there, (new here :])
    I’ve been playing bass guitar for a few years now and I have a one-on-one teacher. I’ve only recently realised that the way I use my fretting hand might not be correct, but my teacher has never said anything to correct it so I don’t know if it actually even is a problem like some online sources say it is.

I have relatively small hands (but not abnormally small), so I often press down on the strings with more the pads of my fingers than the tips. The callus-y skin on my index finger has actually formed on the side of my finger, not straight on. I also occasionally use my distal joints and other parts of my fingers to press down in the more fast-paced songs. It doesn’t sound wrong when I’m playing and feels natural and comfortable, but I’m wondering if playing like this will potentially bite me in the a*s down the line.

Are there any real problems associated with this kind of technique? I do also use the tips of my fingers but not predominantly; I kind of switch without thought between the pads, the tips, joints, etcetera depending on what I’m playing.

2. Mushroo

Mushroo Supporting Member

Apr 2, 2007
    Massachusetts, USA
    Like you, I predominantly use the "pads" of my fingers to fret.

If you'd like to share some photos or a video of your playing, I'd be happy to give you my opinion on your technique.

You mention playing the bass feels "natural and comfortable" so I'd say you're off to a good start. :)

3. SteveCS

SteveCS

Nov 19, 2014
    Hampshire, UK