Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Infrasound from a bass?

Discussion in 'Strings [BG]' started by Tomi, Apr 20, 2001.

1. Tomi

Tomi

Dec 4, 2000
    Tokyo, Japan
    Does the open F# string produces any (minimal) infrasound (a “sound” below 16 Hz)? The freq. of low F# is 23.12 Hz, so the octave lower would be an “infranote” (ultra low F#) with freq. of 11.56 Hz. Would the open F# string be resonated treating with ultra low F# infrasound?
    Sorry guys, if the question is stupid but I am just curious.

2. Josh Ryan

Josh Ryan - that dog won't hunt, Monsignor. Staff Member Supporting Member

Mar 24, 2001
    damn it Jim I'm a bassist not physicist! Beam me an abacus.

3. notduane

notduane

Nov 24, 2000
    Hmm...ServoDrive Inc.'s "Contrabass" supposedly
    has a useable response down to 14Hz.

I dunno how you could verify it outside a lab environment.
    Maybe set up a wall of `em out on the Serengeti plains and
    start ta' wailin'. If a herd of elly-phants come a runnin'...
    there ya' go :) . Mind ya' don't hit the "Brown sound". Yeesh! :eek:

4. Tomi

Tomi

Dec 4, 2000
    Tokyo, Japan
    Thanks notduane, the ServoDrive Inc.'s subwoofer is an interesting thing. Maybe I'll order a pair of them.:D
    Anyway, the infrasound could be quite dangerous. The freq. of human vascular system is 7-8 Hz, so a strong infrasound with this freq. can kill you (internal bleeding)! Ask Pentagon...

5. john turner

john turner You don't want to do that. Trust me. Staff Member Administrator

Mar 14, 2000
    atlanta ga
    the more expensive version of the bag end ELF system is flat down to 8 hz (serious power hog), i've played my low F# equipped basses numerous times through this setup, i'm not dead yet. :D

6. Tomi

Tomi

Dec 4, 2000
    Tokyo, Japan
  7. Captain Awesome

Captain Awesome

Apr 2, 2001
    PDX