Dismiss Notice

Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Insane Buzzing Feedback!!!

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by sn0wblind, Mar 13, 2001.

1. sn0wblind

sn0wblind

Apr 20, 2000
    Ontario, Canada
    I keep getting a annoying feedback even if I'm only halfway up on the volume, (unless I'm standat at about a 45 degree angle to the amp, then is goes away). Then if I've got the tone on my bass cranked open, and I'm not touching any metal parts of the bass(ie, strings, bridge,keys,etc.), the buzz is enuff to make somebody go nutz!!!!!

It is an old Traynor amp, but is there any thing I cand do to stop this buzzing??? (becuz always standing at a 45 degree and kinda sux!) anything would be helpful

-thanx

2. yawnsie

yawnsie

Apr 11, 2000
    London
    Hmmm... I'm no expert in the field, but it sounds more like a problem with the electrics of your bass, rather than the amp. Get the pickups and wiring in your axe looked at before you replace the amp - if you can, try running your bass through another amp to see if it still buzzes. If it does, it's your bass. For the time being, try taking some of the treble and tone off your sound - that should reduce the buzzing, at least slightly.

3. sn0wblind

sn0wblind

Apr 20, 2000
    Ontario, Canada
    Thanx, I was hoping you woldnt say that....and I dont really trust the local guitar guy to check out my bass, and turning th one down a bit does help,

thanx...

4. rickbass

rickbass Supporting Member

snOw- right off the bat, I agree with what yawnsie said. It really sounds like incomplete shielding on your bass. Also, does it have single coil pickups (you don't have any profile info; shame on you ;) ? )