Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Insearch for strong thick sounding strings. Any suggestions.

Discussion in 'Strings [BG]' started by Dox, Aug 18, 2000.

1. Dox

Dox

Aug 17, 2000
    Millville, New Jersey
    Well everyone. I am a beginner bass coming up to about a year of self taught bass lessons (couldn't afford the real thing). I would like to work on my sound more now then actual playing. Believe me it's not goign to distractme from learning new techniques but I want a thicker sound. I have made a post about a good amp, and I am abotu to make a post for a good bass. I know strings usually depend on the bass but I am asking about a general idea. I want strings that will produce a heavy thick sound. I hav eheard nickel gives ya mellow so I am pretty sure I won't get nickel even though they last long. Righ tnow I have Epiphone medium guage strings. I have only used Epiphone's.. So i want some ideas to try. I am most likely going to mov eup to a heavier guage but what kinds should I try? tapewound? Roundwaound? Elixers? Nickel or stainless? Any suggestions would be appreciated.

2. okay, about this thickness thing you're searching for- as a beginner, you may not have experience playing in a band, but to be heard over drums and guitars you need a certain transparency to your sound. you can get a very thick sound that you will enjoy when practicing at home, but in a band setting you won't be able to hear it unless you have a LOT of power and large speakers.

as far as strings are concerned, there's not a ton of difference between brands as far as "thickness" is concerned. if that's what you're after just get a heavy gauge. i recommend ernie ball, they're relatively cheap and sound great.

3. Dox

Dox

Aug 17, 2000
    Millville, New Jersey