1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Insert advice for mounting Roland pickup on finished bass

Discussion in 'Luthier's Corner' started by 00Funk, Nov 28, 2006.

1. 00Funk

00Funk Banned

Jul 17, 2006
    Dallas TX
    Hi my names Andy, I am not a luthier. Im an electrician.

I have several basses I would like to afix, the Roland GK 3B pickup to
    Roland gives you the option of, temp. sticky back, or simply screwing, the pickup into the wood.

Theese pickups have to be set perfectly, for the polyphonics, to operate, at their full potential.

Using the sticky back, like Im doing now, does not afford you the ability, to adjust later.

Screwing into the wood, seems rather tacky to me. Especially into the clear coat, and all.

If you use spring and screws, you can fine tune your adjustment though.

Anyway, I spent most of the day yesterday, googling inserts. There are many different types I found out.

Im thinking a 6/32 insert would be perfect, for using with theese pickups.

One bass I want to do this on, is a wood body with clear coat, the otherI bass, has a body made from composite blackstone.

Using wood inserts, that screw in, seems dangerous to me. Couldnt it crack your clear coat, twisting it in ?
    And on the blackstone, maybe it wouldnt even work.

MY MAIN question is, has anyone used theese inserts, and if so, would theese be right for this type application. Thanks
    tss.

ts_bw.

I bet you would need to use a drill press, to. To get the holes perfect
    IMAG0013.

Heres what they say about their inserts :