Installed Hipshot HB7 tuners on sandblasted Am Special P, ferrules too small?

Discussion in 'Hardware, Setup & Repair [BG]' started by sjhs, Feb 3, 2016.

1. Hi All

I recently acquired one of the limited edition sandblasted P basses and wanted to swap out the original hardware for black hardware. After doing some research it seemed that the Hipshot HB7 tuners should be a drop in replacement. The backplates of the tuners are perfect, and screws right in to place... however the ferrules that came with the HB7s are slightly smaller than the holes by about 1mm. As I work in the film industry my initial thought was "gaffer will fix this!", and I do now have ferrules that appear fairly secure but will not sit fully flush against the headstock.

Am I missing something, is there another size of ferrules/tuners that I should have been looking for or is getting some plumbers tape to build up the ferrule to more accurately fit the hole my only solution that keeps my black hardware rather than going back to the original chrome? The difference in size appears to be about 1.1mm, with the new ferrules being 17.6mm but the original ferrules being 18.7mm. I have a small piece of birds eye maple veneer which I could cut and glue into the peg holes, but I'd prefer a solution which didn't involve glueing bits of wood together... especially as I'm not sure how I could effectively clamp the veneer to the inside of the peg hole.

Here are some pics, in case the sandblasted basses have non-standard special hardware that someone might recognise, or someone can recommend a better way to build up the ferrule - like not using gaffer ;) or just applying it in a different way.

Before I decided to remove perfectly functional hardware...
    nUl9NOB.jpg