Installing a thumbrest?

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by wdinc01, Feb 18, 2006.

1. Lemme know if this is in the wrong place, because I think it is, but I couldn't really find any other place that it should be in.

ANYwho, I'm a beginning bassist, only playing for maybe half a year, and I'm looking into getting a new bass. I'm not really gonna go into details, because it's not very important.

Here's my question: How hard is it to install a thumbrest? I mean, I've looked around the internet and I couldn't find anything. I always thought that I just like put it over the edge of the pickguard, like where the screws would go in for the pickguard. Just install it over those slots and get longer screws.

So if anyone could help and possibly point me to a guide for this, I'd greatly appreciate it. By the way, I'm talking about putting it about the E string, not below the G string as alot of J basses do for...some reason...
  2. thumbrests should be placed where its most confortable to you...usually, gotta drill...

I did make one for my acoustic, I didnt drill, used strong double-sided tape. held on well, when the time came to take it off, no problem, t'was as if it'd never been there.
  3. Well yeah, I was gonna put it above the E string because I don't play with my thumb.

But assuming that it'd be place above the pickguard, does it matter where I drill? I mean, could I just go ahead and drill into the body, or is there a certain place?
  4. What kind of bass do you have? If it is a p-bass or a jazz bass(it doesn't or shouldn't matter if its a knock off from Fender..)