Instruction videos/books

Discussion in 'Technique [BG]' started by Ruud Das, Sep 14, 2000.

1. Alright, this message has propably been posted numerous times before, but I didn't want to go through the trouble of searching this forum for a post on the topic.

This is my problem: At the moment if find myself without a teacher, because there simple aren't any good bassplayers where I live, who also have time to teach me. So I'll have to resort to books and video's, so my question is this: What are good books/video's for a moderate bass player. Moderate meaning I'm not an absolute beginner (I'm playing metallica, simple Primus and such), but I need to learn all cool techniques. Especially funky slap techniques and such. Any suggestions? Let me know!
  2. Bruce Lindfield

Bruce Lindfield Unprofessional TalkBass Contributor Gold Supporting Member

So why should we "go through the trouble" of replying again?
  3. Chris A

Chris A Chemo sucks!

Feb 25, 2000
    Manchester NH
    What happened to the "kinder, gentler" Bruce that we all came to know and love?

Just kidding. Bruce is right, the information is here, look for it.

Chris A.:rolleyes:
  4. Bruce Lindfield

Bruce Lindfield Unprofessional TalkBass Contributor Gold Supporting Member

Just asking the obvious question! I thought I was being quite gentle; now I could have said a lot more.....;)
  5. Haha, well I guess you got me searching through this whole forum then :) I probably got myself to blame for that one.
    Thanks anyways (?)
  6. Blackbird

Blackbird Moderator Staff Member Supporting Member

Mar 18, 2000
    Welcome to TalkBass, Ruud.

Performing a search on TalkBass is really easy, thanks to the "search" feature. All you have to do is click on Search, type in a keyword, like "Video" and wait for the answers to pop up.

If I had to recommend a video for a beginner, I'd say "Fingerstyle Funk" by Rocco Prestia.

By the way, "Anyways" is not a word.

Will C.:cool:
  7. Thanks man,