Instructional books without reading music.

Discussion in 'General Instruction [BG]' started by MCBTunes, Aug 8, 2005.

1. Can I get some good suggestions of instructional books/mags. In tab, I dont want to see any written notes :) I'll deal with that after, maybe. I'm looking for something to teach me scales(and HOW to use them), chords, appregio's that kind of stuff. So I can write basslines that are in key.
  2. CamMcIntyre

Jun 6, 2000
    I'd look for one that has both-i'm not experienced with any tab only books. Good Luck Man.
  3. JMX

JMX Vorsprung durch Technik

Sep 4, 2000
    Cologne, Germany
    There is a reason why there are no tab-only instructional books.
    Learn to read standard notation now, not later. You'll progress faster.
  4. seanlava

Apr 14, 2005
    Amen! For some reason, kids/beginners seem to think that reading will somehow get in the way of their playing. The opposite is true. Spend a little time learning to read, save a LOT of time learning to play.
  5. Richard Lindsey

Richard Lindsey

Mar 25, 2000
    Metro NYC
    You can't really understand scales and how to use them, chords, etc. with tab. Tab is merely a mechanical method of showing you where to put your fingers. There's no understanding involved. "Keys" don't even really exist in tab.

IMO you'd be better off starting to get a handle on reading notation now. It will give you a vastly better choice of instructional materials and will serve you much better as a musician. If you can read English you can read music.
  6. well i learnt to read like 6 years ago and lost it, it was kinda a major pain. are there any that make it easier by showing the pattern on the fretboard or anything so i dont need to readit on the fly? No one in my band can read music, and we have some pretty damn good musicians, myself excluded :)
  7. dhadleyray

dhadleyray Guest

Dec 7, 2004