Interesting story about Carol Kaye

Discussion in 'Bassists [BG]' started by Jon Lars, Jan 2, 2020.

Tags:
  1. THE SAW

THE SAW

Sep 14, 2006
    I think she's on solid ground- such an obvious depiction demands her permission, and in my opinion, a fee.

Nothing but good things for me to say about Ms. Kaye-

2. MonetBass

MonetBass ♪ Just listen ♫ Supporting Member

Sep 15, 2006
    Tulsa, OK
    Interesting that you bring this up, because we're watching season 3 right now. In one scene in a Miami club when Shy Baldwin is singing, there is Carole Keen playing electric bass while at the same time, there's a upright player playing behind her. As a bassist, I was shocked. That made no sense to have both, because you wouldn't be able to hear the upright over the electric.

fretter, TheMaynorD, Ekulati and 2 others like this.
  3. Mushroo

Mushroo Guest

Apr 2, 2007
    The show takes place in 1960, and Carol hadn't switched over from guitar to bass at that point. If they wanted to be historically correct, she should be on hollowbody jazz guitar, with another musician playing the upright bass.

fretter, HolmeBass, Ekulati and 2 others like this.
  4. viribus

viribus Gold Supporting Member

Jan 1, 2011
    Pacific Northwest
    I never actually learned to play very well
    If you saw a character on TV or in a movie who is obviously based on you but portrayed in a less than flattering or truthful way, you probably wouldn’t be very happy either.

5. JRA

JRA my words = opinion Supporting Member

she's 84. she's a little cranky. big whup! :D

good move on her part to create a dust-up, however.

Low84, Dominic DeCosa and OldDog52 like this.
  6. woodyng2

woodyng2 Supporting Member

Oct 4, 2015
    Oregon Coast
    Well, it seems rather obvious Kaye’s approval/permission wasn’t requested,so I don’t blame her for being riled. (Although i do enjoy the show, and thought the characterization was mostly positive.)