1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Intermediate Amp? Help!

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by ABR_Matt, Oct 4, 2010.

1. ABR_Matt

ABR_Matt

Apr 26, 2010
    Hey everyone,

So I recently looked into buying a new setup. I've been playing for about three years now, and unfortunately I'm still on my Fender Squire P-Bass and Fender Rumble 15. I've been looking into buying a new amp, but I don't really know where to look.
    So here's the deal. I've just moved into my dorm room. I live in a "suite-style" room, so I do have my own space for an amp. However, this will be my full-time amp, so I'm looking for something good enough. I'd say my max is 250$, but I'm willing to go higher if someone really suggests me to. Can anyone help me out?

Thanks,
    Matt.

Ps, combo or head/cab? I realize I'll have to spend more for a decent head/cab setup.
    PPs, I'm into a bit heavier playing styles (usually in drop d / c), but I do enjoy playing in standard from time to time as well.

2. jastacey

jastacey

Feb 8, 2009
    Houston,Tx
    Keep your eyes on the local craigslist ...deals do pop up, from time to time, and you have to have the ability to fund the purchase ASAP ...or it will be the deal that got away, going the separate head/cabinet route, gives you a lot more options

3. ABR_Matt

ABR_Matt

Apr 26, 2010
    Okay, makes sense. I do have the ability to fund it now, which is why I'm looking before I mistakenly waste all my money on other things. I'll make sure to look around. Also, I do think I'd rather go the head/cab way at this point.

Thanks,
    Matt

4. RickenBoogie

RickenBoogie

Jul 22, 2007
    Dallas, TX