1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

Into the fire

Discussion in 'Band Management [BG]' started by countrybass5, Jan 10, 2019.

1. I got a call from an old band member who wants to get together again. He is a lead singer but he is terrible. He sings off key and he breaks time. I'm not a great musician,but I like to sound good when I play. I don't do gigs anymore so this will probably be just a weekly jam. I won't play for these guys in public because I have too much pride. Do any of you do something this crazy? If so I'd like to hear your story.

SXema, mikewalker and Ductapeman like this.
  2. Thread title made me think of the old school metal song by Dokken.

SXema, skwee, cheechi and 22 others like this.
  3. juancaminos

juancaminos Supporting Member

May 30, 2003
    USA, Phoenix, AZ
    Yeah...maybe..it depends

HolmeBass likes this.
  4. trailer

trailer Thumper Supporting Member

Jan 18, 2008
    Guntersville, Al.
    Every so often I go and jam with some guys that are just horrible. Not sure why exactly. It's kinda fun I guess but I wouldn't be caught dead doing it in public.

DaveDeVille, DirtDog, hintz and 3 others like this.
  5. EddiePlaysBass

EddiePlaysBass

Feb 26, 2009
    Belgium
    I recently got together with the singer of my old band, to jam on some tunes. Just him on vocals and acoustic guitar, and me on electric upright. The idea was solid, but I realized that he's not a good guitarist and even in this setting he simply does not listen to what the bass does :bored: So I let that idea die a slow, quiet death.

I would rather play with people who make the overall sound of the band sound good.

TheBear, mikewalker and Mr_Moo like this.
  6. buldog5151bass

buldog5151bass Kibble, milkbones, and P Basses. And redheads.

Oct 22, 2003
    Connecticut