Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Intonation - How Can I Check It Myself?

Discussion in 'Hardware, Setup & Repair [BG]' started by wannabe_bassist, Mar 23, 2003.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. wannabe_bassist

wannabe_bassist Guest

Jan 25, 2002
    Florida
    What process is used to check the intonation of a bass?

I believe that you check the harmonic on the 12th fret and then adjust the length of the string at the bridge appropriately.

But I am still a beginner, so I just want to ask those in the know.

I could take the bass to my local guitar store, but I have seen the people there and I suspect that I might be the best one to do this....

Is there a website or link that goes into greater detail on this?

I imagine that learning this myself would be a great way to become more familiar with my bass guitar.

2. Ziggy

Ziggy

May 9, 2001
    Orange County, CA
    Wannabe,

Sounds like you have it already figured out.

You can rough it in - should you need to do so, by measuring the distance from the inside of the string guide / nut to the 12th fret wire.

-double that distance and adjust the 1st string saddle to this distance.

-adjust the second string saddle back from the first the same amount as it's string gauge.
    ie: 2nd string is .060" gauge, move that saddle .060" back from the first saddle... continue this procedure for the remaining strings and saddles.

The 'fine' tuning, as you mention in your query is;
    -the 12th fret harmonic and the 12th fretted note should be the same.

-sharp = lengthening the string (moving the saddle back)
    -flat = shortening