Intro/Amateur bass question

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by ultravisitor, Nov 11, 2004.

1. ultravisitor

Nov 11, 2004
    Greetings all.. this is my first post after recently discovering this site.

I'm a self-taught, amateur bass player who will begin formal electric jazz bass lessons soon. I am purchasing a new, proper bass in the very near future as well.

I definitely want a Warwick Corvette Standard but I cannot decide between the four and six string models. I've got rather small hands and I've been told that six string basses are less stressful on such hands. Additionally, if I am beginning formal lessons, is it best to use a four string model? I have not discussed this with the instructor.

2. if we knew where you were from, we might beable to point you to a dealer in your area so you could try each one out. i would think that a 6 string would be a bit much for someone with small hands. i would start with the 4 string, and as you progress, buy the 6 string.
  3. Hmmm... I would suggest starting with a 4, just because it's less to get your head/hands around. There is no real advantage or disadvatage to starting with either a 4 or a 6. It really depends on what feel better to you. I do know, however, that 6 string Corvette Standard is a heavy bass. It may be too heavy to be comfortable for someone just starting out.

Try both of them out if you get the chance. If you can't try them both out, i would say get a 4 string.
  4. stamman5

Aug 10, 2004
    Well, as for the teacher it really just depends. If it is your average Joe teacher at the shop around the corner maybe four would better but who can say. Also, I am not sure how much difference it would really make. I think that decent teachers should be able to cope.