1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Intro and a 61 Fender Stack Knob

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by tizzdizz, Oct 9, 2010.

1. tizzdizz

tizzdizz

Nov 23, 2008
    Hey guys, I'm a drummer who's always wanted to play bass. I decided 2 weeks ago to give it another go and not let myself get discouraged. I borrowed my Dad's bass from my brother and have been making progress ever since. I'm really enjoying it so far and hope to start taking lessons as soon as we can afford it.

Anyway, I've found some good resources for learning material, but if you have any other suggestions, I'm open to all advice.

The bass I'm playing was my Dad's until he passed away when I was 11. He gigged with it for 20+ years, and it helped buy our first home. I know it's a shame from a collector's point of view that it has been refinished, but I wouldn't change a thing about it, it's one of our most prized possessions and our favorite memento of Dad.

From what I gather, this is a somewhat rare bass, and I thought I'd share some pictures of it. My brother and I took it into the local Fender Custom Shop and they checked it out and said it was in great working order, and that they'd gig it that night if they could. It actually generated a good amount of interest amongst the employees there lol. The only thing that has been done to this in the last 20+ years since my dad passed is a new set of strings a year or so ago.

We have the original case and chrome for it too, but the case has seen better days and both latches are broken. Where can I get replacement latches that are correct for the case? How hard are they to replace? Sorry the case is dirty, it just got pulled out of storage.

Edit: I found this latch but I don't know if it would work of if there's a better option out there. http://www.ecrater.com/p/2988563/cheney-latch-for-fender-stratocaster-schecter

IMG_0500.jpg