Introducing me...

Discussion in 'Technique [BG]' started by jtcdrums, Dec 28, 2007.

1. jtcdrums

jtcdrums

Dec 28, 2007
    Hi bass people,

First up, I'm a drummer. I have come here as I feel there is probably more value to be had in reading about what bass players look for in their music and their drummers, than chatting with other drummers. A sense of perspective for me is important, and as the bass and drums are intrinsically linked, I reckon I can learn a lot from you guys and maybe even impart a 'drummer perspective' from time to time.

About me: well, I'm based in central Scotland, and have been playing drums since 1987. I have played in a few bands but basically I am in it as a hobby rather than as a profession. Along the way I have of course dabbled with bass playing - I picked up a fretless Steinberger copy and jumped in at the deep end trying to learn bass by copying Jaco Pastorius links. Suffice it to say, I didn't get too far :meh:

I think it's safe to say that, despite being a drummer, I have always loved the bass - the growl of a good bass line, in tandem with a tight drum part, can make the tune.

What I'm hoping to get out of all of this is the 'inside track' on how best to work with a bass player to get the best rhythm track for the song, and how to get to that 'locked in' state which I find elusive at present (my band's bass player being from the somewhat 'loose' end of the technique scale). Also, as I get more and more interested in recording, I'm trying to setup a few little projects and (once ready) would be pleased as punch to make a few new bass friends and maybe even do some (remote) recording if that's of interest.

OK, that'll do by way of introduction, John's the name, drums is the game but hopefully I will be able to add something positive to these forums if you'll let me.

A' the best!

john

2. dhemstra

dhemstra

Nov 10, 2007
    Welcome John. I hope you get lot out of this forum. :)