Dismiss Notice

Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Introducing myself and my project

Discussion in 'Luthier's Corner' started by MPU, Oct 8, 2004.

1. MPU

MPU

Sep 21, 2004
    Valkeala Finland
    Hi boardmembers,
    I've been reading this forum for a month or so. I'm a Finnish elementary school teacher and have the possibility to use all the machines we have at school.
    It's been a pleasure to look and read about basses you've made. I started a new bass after 10 years of no instrument making at all. This one has the shape of Cordle bass on MIMF forum. Body is alder with Finnish visa-birch veneer on top. The body is chambered on both wings. Scale length is going to be 32", hardware is Customshopparts individual bridges and SD Quarterpound Jazz pickup with matching wood cover.

I've seen these individual bridges used as string thru-bridge. Does the front screw have enough strength to hold the bridge in place? The string comes thru the rear screw hole. I assume the forces on the bridge are mostly only downwards so there should be no problem or am I missing something? I'm using string ferrules and brass tubing to guide the strings thru the body.

Marko

2. Cliff Bordwell

Cliff Bordwell Commercial User

Jan 6, 2004
    USA , Orlando , Florida
    Owner of CB BASSES
  3. Worshiper

Worshiper

Aug 13, 2004
    New York
    That's amazing...and for a first timer!?! WOW!!
    You might want to take this to the luthier's corner for some tips, opinions..compliments, whatever. WOW..I can't get over that

4. Worshiper

Worshiper

Aug 13, 2004
    New York
    oops sorry,
    This is the luthier's corner..
    I don't know where my head is. I thought this was the regular bass forum. Sorry again

5. NO, NO, You've come to the right place!!...drag up a chair, and lets talk about this. :cool:

6. FBB Custom

FBB Custom TalkBass Pro Commercial User

Jan 26, 2002