1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Invasion of privacy>>>>Broker wants to track my phone(Trucking Dilemma)

Discussion in 'Off Topic [BG]' started by FunkHead, Mar 2, 2016.

1. No way! That''s a huge invasion of Privacy.

29 vote(s)
    96.7%
  2. Sure. Why not? What's the worst that could happen?

1 vote(s)
    3.3%
  1. FunkHead

FunkHead Supporting Member

Mar 10, 2007
    I am a Tractor trailer driver.

So, I was going to pull a load of Chickens from North Carolina to Pennsylvania.

The Shippers Broker demanded that I install an Ap on my phone so they could track me. This would allow them to ping my phone at any time to see where I was.

God only knows what else they could be doing to my phone. I have heard that they can even listen to your calls and view you through your Phones Camera.

I refused and they took the load away from me.

What would you do????

Edit: To be clear, this s my personal phone(Not Company Provided) Also, the Truck has It's own tracking devices and My company always know where the truck is.

Last edited: Mar 2, 2016
  2. Gorn

Gorn

Dec 15, 2011
    Queens, NY
    I have no idea if what they wanted was legal, but if it was I wouldn't care. I have nothing to hide and a job is a job. I like money.

Munjibunga likes this.
  3. Mktrat

Mktrat Seriously, are we not doing phrasing anymore? Supporting Member

Apr 9, 2013
    The Mitten
    I could understand that kind of tracking with a "sensitive" or high dollar load. Chickens? Come on.

Gaolee and FunkHead like this.
  4. Gorn

Gorn

Dec 15, 2011
    Queens, NY
    How much is a truck load of chickens worth? Probably not chump change. It's money.

5. Gorn

Gorn

Dec 15, 2011
    Queens, NY
    Don't trucks like that already have gps?

pcake likes this.