1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

Irregularities in roasted maple?

Discussion in 'Luthier's Corner' started by FretsAreFor, Sep 13, 2018.

1. FretsAreFor

FretsAreFor

Apr 26, 2017
    Hi wizards -- here's a picture from my roasted maple neck. There are a bunch of these odd occlusions throughout the neck that look like stray pen-marks. They aren't obviously structural (they don't feel any different), but I've never used this wood before, so I don't know what I'm looking at.

So, what are they? Are they normal? A sign of over-roasting? Are they structural weaknesses?

IMG_20180913_062857.

2. Stumbo

Stumbo Wherever you go, there you are. Supporting Member Commercial User

Feb 11, 2008
    Intergalactic Mind Space
    Song Surgeon sofware
    Normal.
    Suhr Custom Modern Blue Green Burst w/ 3A Roasted Maple Neck

3. I like the way that looks :)

gebass6 likes this.
  4. Scoops

Scoops Why do we use base 10 when we only have 8 fingers Supporting Member Commercial User

Oct 22, 2013
    Sugar Creek, Wisc
    I am me
    There was probably some mineral streaking in the wood. When it was baked, it turned into what you have

5. Bruce Johnson

Bruce Johnson Supporting Member Commercial User

Feb 4, 2011
    Fillmore, CA
    Professional Luthier
    Those marks are quite common, and are part of the wood. If the board wasn't roasted, they would be Brown Squiggles (that's a technical term). The roasting makes them blackish. These kinds of marks generally aren't structural problems, but they are cosmetic "flaws" in the wood. The board that neck was made from wasn't top grade, but you shouldn't have any problems with it.