1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Is 2 months too soon?

Discussion in 'General Instruction [BG]' started by BrianL, Apr 19, 2010.

1. BrianL

BrianL

Apr 17, 2010
    Hi all! I'm a nube here and to the bass in general. I've been playing for a little over 2 months now between 1-2 hour every day, and I'm at the point where I can play a bunch of songs pretty cleanly to the recordings (to my ear, at least). I know all the notes on the E and A strings, and I know where the octave, 4th and 5th are in relation to what I'm playing. I'm working on my 1st position major and minor scales. I consider myself an 'advanced beginner', and probably benefited from the 2+ years of nightly guitar practice I did before I discovered the bass.

So my question: Is it too soon to be looking for others to play with? How do you know when your ready? I've never played with anyone else before, and (frankly) I'm afraid of laughed out the practice space.

Sorry if this has been asked before - I wasn't having luck with 'Search'...

2. Smallmouth_Bass

Smallmouth_Bass

Dec 29, 2005
    Canada
    It's always a good thing to get out and play with others. It's part of the development.

3. MooseLumps

MooseLumps Supporting Member

Nov 4, 2007
    Portland
    You are light years ahead of some

4. SBassman

SBassman

Jun 8, 2003
    Northeast, US
    Go for it. You can probably find other players of other instruments at the same point as you, and you can grow together.

5. Chris Symer

Chris Symer

Dec 13, 2009
    Seattle,Wa.
    There are something like 10,000 unavoidable playing mistakes that no amount of "practice" will get you out of. The sooner you get out there and start getting them out of the way the better. It will actually be good for you.

6. dukaruk

dukaruk

Mar 12, 2008
    Saint Louis, MO
    Find people to play with. It doesn't have to be your dream gig.

7. SanDiegoHarry