Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

is a 1x10 combo adequate??

Discussion in 'Amps, Mics & Pickups [DB]' started by Bibby, Apr 3, 2003.

1. Bibby

Bibby Supporting Member

Aug 24, 2000
    hey guys!

i'm new to the double bass, i've been playing about 6 months now. i'm just about ready to amplify so i've been researching this site (wonderful source!)

right now i have a tech 21 landmark 60 1x10 combo that i use for practice/ monitoring/ very small acoustic gigs with my electric. do you guys feel that a 1x10 has enough oomph to adequately amplify a double bass?

from my searches it seems that 1x12's are the norm, but i did notice a few mentions of the swr workingman 10.

would i be better off alotting money for a 1x12 cab to go along with my ashdown abm500 head?

thanks

2. lermgalieu

lermgalieu Supporting Member

Apr 27, 2000
    Palo Alto, CA
    You'll need to expound on what types of tunes you'll be playing, what lineup etc. Is this a jazz trio? A big band? A rock band? Latin? All styles potentially have different amp solutions, from nothing on up to everything....

3. sean p

sean p

Mar 7, 2002
    eugene, oregon
    furthermore, one thing i've learned around here is that folks seem to find speaker solutions range far beyond simply getting the right size. different brands are going to sound differently even in the same sizes, what with cabinet efficiency and range of frequency reproduction et al.

for many applications a ten is great, though as i said each brand will have a distinct sound. i'd say a good ten is a very versatile speaker for low-mid volume applications.

i use 12" gk combo and it does all right. not always tight. i haven't compared it with many other rigs.

sean p

4. Well put. These variables will make all the difference in the world as to what you will need.