Is a bass with a maxed out truss rod worth buying?

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by GrillMaster01, Apr 13, 2022.

1. GrillMaster01

GrillMaster01

Sep 21, 2021
    Texas
    I am a beginner looking to buy my first bass and have decided to go the used route to get better value for the money. There is a late 90's Ibanez Soundgear I have my eye on right now that I really like. It is in almost perfect condition; electronics are all good, neck is good and straight, and there is hardly a scratch on it, but there is no room left on the truss rod for adjustment. Is this something that can be repaired for a reasonable price, and if so, will the repair be sustainable? In other words, is it worth buying?

2. lomo

lomo passionate hack Supporting Member

Apr 15, 2006
    Montreal
    I would not touch it.

3. bobyoung53

bobyoung53 Supporting Member

I wouldn't buy it either. There are things a luthier can do that will give it a little more travel but that's not a good sign.

jwoiton likes this.
  4. Lesfunk

Lesfunk Bootlegger guitars : S.I.T. Strings Supporting Member

Apr 5, 2007
    Florida USA
    No way
    Most issues are relatively easy fixes ,(wiring issues, bad potentiometers, bad nut, broken tuning machine etc…) but a bad neck is the one of the biggest issues you could face. Especially if you’re just starting out.

Last edited: Apr 13, 2022
  5. bobyoung53

bobyoung53 Supporting Member

I bought a nice 1996 RI '62 Jazz that was like brand new, the truss rod wasn't maxed out but it was bowed a bit much for me, I would tighten it up and it would nice for a day or two, do it again etc, it turns out the wood was soft, I finally had to buy a new neck for it after having a luthier put a couple of washers behind the truss rod nut.

Mike Marshall and FenderOli like this.
  6. GrillMaster01

GrillMaster01

Sep 21, 2021
    Texas
    That's what I was thinking based on what I'd already heard, but figured I'd ask anyway just to see. Thanks for the advice.

7. NikosP75