Is Anybody a Steely Dan fan?

Discussion in 'Miscellaneous [BG]' started by SpiralStatic, Nov 14, 2005.

1. JimK

Dec 12, 1999
    ...never heard of him.
  2. malthumb

Mar 25, 2001
    The Motor City
    For the longest time I was a Steely Dan fan and didn't know it. Then I started playing in a band that had a few SD covers in the set list. I bought one of the anthology collections to learn some of the songs. So, for the past two years or so I consider myself a more mainstream SD fan. I had been grooving to a bunch of their songs for years, not knowing (or caring) who the artist was.

3. Akami

Akami Four on the floor

One of my best friends is a Steely Dan freak.
    Does that count? ;)

I play Do It Again and have considered doing more of their material, just haven't gotten around to it yet.
  4. Ray-man

Ray-man Guest

Sep 10, 2005
    I thought only girls could be Steely Dan fans. Maybe not....

Not that there's anything wrong with that. :D
  5. ladros2

Jun 2, 2005
    OH YEAH! Josie, Haitian Divorce, The Caves of Altamira. They are among my favourite bands!
  6. JimK

Dec 12, 1999
    Every Dan fan I know is a guy. ;)

Chuck Rainey's bass lines on "Kid Charlemagne", "The Fez", "Green Earrings", "Don't Take Me Alive", "My Gold teeth II", "Peg", "Josie", "Black Cow", "Aja", etc are essential.

My least favourite Steely Dan story-
    I've been a fan ever since "Do It Again"; I have never seen them live & everyone knows how they stopped doing tours(until recently). In '96 or so, I'm offered two freebies(6th row center)...the 'all-original' band I'm in gets a 'gig'. To make a long story short, the other members whine about playing out & so I give those passes away.
    The 'gig'? We play a redneck bar doing our brand of White-boy Rapcore/Free Funk...I recall some Civil War relic at the bar toasting Jefferson Davis, "the greatest g**dam President the US Of A has ever had".

Whadda night...
  7. Squidfinger

Squidfinger I wish I could sing like Rick Danko.