Is buying a DB750 worth it?

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by him666, Sep 2, 2005.

1. Right now i have a Peavey T Max and a Aguilar GS212. I'm thinking of replacing my T-Max with an Aguilar DB750. Does it really make a step forward? I mean can you really hear a $1500 difference?
    I'm not sure, i also would like to buy a Rickenbacker bass. But I'm a student so i have to make choices. Right now i have a Stingray5 and a Rickenbacker bass sounds much different.
    When I'm going to record an album with my band, most listeners won't hear I'm using an Aguilar amp, but they will hear difference between a Stingray or a Rickenbacker..
    Can anyone give some advice?
    Thanks in advance.
  2. Have you done extensive comparisons of the amps out there and then decided on the DB750, or is it based on reviews, etc.?

If so, here's my take... it would be a step up... amazing amp if that's the sound you like... big, fat and tube-like. However, it's also very large, as you know very expensive, and very heavy. If you've played it and like it above all others (as many TBers do), then go for it. But... make sure you play the Eden, SWR, (and EA, Thunderfunk if you can) etc. stuff too... also a big step up and much smaller, lighter and less expensive.
  3. Well I haven't got the change to try it. Sometimes i wish i would live in the USA.. A DB750 is like $1500 dollars used in the USA. And a DB750 cost $3500 new in Holland(where i live). So if I buy it at for example i always can sell it in Holland without losing money..
  4. Poon

May 20, 2003
    Los Angeles, CA