Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Is engelhardt em-1 a good starter bass?

Discussion in 'Basses [DB]' started by Will B., Mar 16, 2005.

1. Will B.

Will B.

Mar 11, 2005
    Ontario
    I have played electric bass for a few years but have always wanted to try an upright.I have rented a Stentor and am taking lessons.The neck feels thick and have heard the em-1 has a thinner neck. Is this true and are there any other good or bad points to consider with the engelhardt line?
    And who ever come up with the term "ebonized"?
    This is my first time so be gentle!

2. cabin dweller

cabin dweller Supporting Member

Dec 17, 2004
    Ridgeland, WI
    I own one, yes they have fast necks,it takes abit to get used to if your used to a normal thick neck. I don't think there a bad bass. Ive put mine threw hell already,(cabin weather gigin). It took a bit to open up. Putting spiro mediums on it made a huge difference. the color kinda sucks- nothin' like the pictures. 1 threw 10, I would give it 7.

3. Will B.

Will B.

Mar 11, 2005
    Ontario
    Thanks for the info,
    I heard the engelhardt basses very in feel, not really consistent in construction. Is this true?
    There doesn't seem to be a dealer up here that has stock so I don"t get the pick of the litter.

4. cabin dweller

Dec 17, 2004
    Ridgeland, WI
    I think your right about the contruction verys. I think I bought a monday model. Ive heard that only 1 in 10 will be a natural "true" thumper. I dont think i won that lottery. But for a $1000 USA plywood, I think its worth it. Check out Bob Gollihurs site for best price. Cheapest ive found.

5. Ed Fuqua

Ed Fuqua

Dec 13, 1999
    NYC
    Chuck Sher publishes my book, WALKING BASSICS:The Fundamentals of Jazz Bass Playing.
    Not to pick nits, but THROUGH and VARY.