Is is wrong to play your way?

Discussion in 'Ask Michael Dimin' started by IbanezGSound4, Nov 27, 2002.

1. Because I'm a beginner bassist(mind you I don't suck), I've learned some of my favorite songs. Is it wrong to play the way you find easiest as long as the notes you play sound well and are close to the actual music?

For example, my mentor plays AC/DC's T.N.T. and STP's Plush way different from how I taught myself. Can you tell me if the way I do things is a good start or a bad habit to keep cutting and changing around tablature

Can anyone give me their interpretation of that quote?
  2. Mike Dimin

Mike Dimin

Dec 11, 1999
    Clinician: EA, Zon, Boomerang, TI. Author "The Art of Solo Bass"
    Great questions.

It is best to learn BOTH ways and more. Learning different ways to play the same line opens up more of the fretboard and more musical ideas. The more ways you can play the same line the better. I think your intuition was right on target

3. wulf

Apr 11, 2002
    Oxford, UK
    While it could be dangerous to try and play something that is really uncomfortable, it is good to try a lot of different approaches. If you always stick within your 'mental comfort zone' you simply won't grow as a musician.

Since you've got a mentor, it might be worth asking them the same question. If they try and tell you that what they're doing is the only way to play the line, it may be time to look round for someone else... but if they can explain why they play it a particular way and help you get past the obstacles that make that way difficult to you, they will be doing you a great service.

As Mike says, the more ways you can learn to play something the better - it's all about building your musical vocabularly so that you can communicate fluently.