Dismiss Notice

Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Is it bad to mark positions?

Discussion in 'Jazz Technique [DB]' started by SottoVoce, Mar 18, 2001.

1. SottoVoce

SottoVoce

Sep 16, 2000
    Canada
    Is it bad to mark the positions on the side of the fingerboard of the bass? The bass we have at school is already marked, so ever since I started learning I depended on those markings to get my intonation right. Now I'm able to play most of the time without looking, but when it gets to high notes or to unfamiliar positions, I still have to look. Is that bad?

2. Chris Fitzgerald

Chris Fitzgerald Student of Life Staff Member Administrator

Oct 19, 2000
    Louisville, KY
    Well, bad is whatever you want to call bad I guess, but....ideally you want playing the bass to be about feeling and hearing rather than seeing. Try playing with your eyes closed and notice the difference in the way you aproach higher passages. I find it easier to play with my eyes closed most of the time because it forces me to focus on the sound more than when they're open. Bob Gollihur has posted several times that when he's playing his best, he BECOMES the bass, as if it is a part of his body (or he a part of it). If the bass was a part of you, would you still need to look to find parts of it?

3. That's true,Chris, But first you have to get to that level of playing.My first teacher put stickers on the fingerboard, just so I could learn where to put my fingers, but six months later, he took them off, so I would start using my ears and start practicing the positions as outlined in the Simandl Method.