1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

Is It Important To You To Have Similar Necks On Your Basses?

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by jasper383, Aug 25, 2007.

1. jasper383

jasper383 Supporting Member

Dec 5, 2004
    Durham NC
    Gary Willis talks of having the same size/profile necks on different basses, to improve muscle memory and learning. I guess adjusting from neck to neck can slow you down.

Is this important to you when you buy/trade for a new bass?

2. ishouldbeking

ishouldbeking

Feb 5, 2007
    Hollywood, CA
    Endorsing: SIT, Eastwood, Hanson
    I'm by no means a pro (I prefer the term "glorified amateur"), but for me I kind of enjoy having basses with different necks... I get a nice sense of variety from them. If i'm feeling 'burnt' after playing one bass too much I can switch to another and have a slightly different experience.

The necks on my stingray, MIM Jazz, and SX P are all quite different... I lean towards the stingray neck I think, but there are times when a nice thin Jazz neck feels good too.

I read a guitar lesson book once that suggested learning to play guitar on as many kinds of guitars (they were referring to 6 strings, so i suppose it could be a bit different) as possible so that you can develop a level of comfort and familiarity on different guitars so that you won't be "crippled" if for some reason your main player is unavailable. I can see both sides to this argument though. Whatever floats your boat, really.

3. casio

casio

Aug 1, 2007
    Croatia
    well, I have a few basses at the moment for different kinds of music I like to get into, and I can say that it can be better to have similar necks, but I can also tell you that it depends on the style a lot (for me atleast)!