Dismiss Notice

Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Is it in your blood?

Discussion in 'Off Topic [BG]' started by eldave777, Aug 19, 2005.

1. eldave777

eldave777

May 24, 2005
    I have been playing since I was 5 years old. I've had guitars my whole life. My father once told me that all the men in our family, for as far back as his great, great, great, whatever had been musicians. He showed me pictures of all these men sitting around with guitars, mandolins, banjo's, piano's, etc. playing and hanging out. I had always believed I was the one who "took it up a notch" because I did gigs and toured. My dad informed me that my grandfather had played bars in bands for years. In fact shortly after my grandfather passed, my father got a call from a guy that was in a band with my grandfather to say he didn't get paid for a gig they did once and could he get the cash from my dad. Dad told him he must have been an a-hole if his dad didn't pay him.
    Anybody else have a family history of musicians? I find this kinda interesting. :D

2. Fo' Shizzle

Fo' Shizzle

Aug 28, 2003
    I don't know if it's "in your blood" or if just growing up around music, musicians, and musical gear pushes you that way. It's the "old inheirited vs learned behavior" arguement.