1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Is it just a competitive thing?

Discussion in 'Miscellaneous [BG]' started by Thumpy McGroove, Jul 11, 2012.

1. Thumpy McGroove

Thumpy McGroove

Jul 11, 2012
    Maine
    I'm new here (Hello TalkBass community:hyper:). I have been playing for about 8 years or so. I became interested in this forum because I assumed it would be a good place to learn and seek constructive criticism to improve my playing. I have noticed that the posts along the lines of "Help, I need advice on a technique or theory" get very little responses. But the posts about gear and such get all the replies.

How come people don't want to help fellow bass players but will go blue in the face talking about pre-amps or strings? Is it just people being competive, similar to a fisherman not telling you the best place to find the big fish?

2. Tituscrow

Tituscrow Banned

Feb 14, 2011
    NW England
    You could try the 'technique', 'general instruction' or 'tab' forums. I suspect you've only looked at the gear threads if all you are reading about is gear?

There is some truly fantastic stuff here and some truly wonderful people. You just need the patience to seek it out.

Come back to this thread in six months and hopefully by then you'll dig what I mean.

3. colcifer

colcifer Esteemed Nitpicker Supporting Member

Feb 10, 2010
    A Galaxy Far, Far Away
    This is a great medium to talk about gear but a bad medium to teach music. Also, since the nomenclature isn't standardized and different people teach differently, it's hard to keep a thread on theory going straight. Plus, once someone answers the question, there's really nothing left to say.

4. Thumpy McGroove

Thumpy McGroove

Jul 11, 2012
    Maine