Is It Just Me?....(Norton question)

Discussion in 'Off Topic [BG]' started by rickbass, Feb 24, 2004.

1. rickbass

rickbass Supporting Member

I've noticed my Norton Anti-Virus has had to automatically run updates on my home PC about everyday.......quite unusual compared to a year ago......(of course, MicroSlut is almost no help!).

Is this happening because the hackers are just going nuts these days ???

Also, do you find that Spyware is dangerous stuff nowadays ???

Thanks for any insights. I'm no techie by any stretch of the imagination. (JMX, Embellisher, JT, and you other tech heavyweights - your input is much appreciated).
  2. JMX

JMX Vorsprung durch Technik

Sep 4, 2000
    Cologne, Germany
    I guess Symantec is just increasing their update frequency. This might be more a result of longer online times of the average user than of an increased risk. I use Kaspersky AVP and they had daily updates even before the major players did.

If you pracise the usual care with emails, and use tools like spybot S&D, ad-aware and spywareblaster, you're safe as ever IMO.
  3. rickbass

Yep, JMX, I always delete anything with an attachment from a sender I don't know and use the Spyware.

I'm just surprised my Norton Antivirus is running every day I get online. Before, I had to remember to run it every week or so.

I appreciate your input.
  4. rickbass

Dave - Conceptually, I know what it is.....I just can't explain it with any authority.

So, I'll just say this - When you're cruising around the net and select a site or get a pop-up, Spyware software installs on your computer without you knowing it, so it can track where you go every time you use your computer and send your address to a bunch of sites that want to spam you. In other words, it invisibly tracks your web surfing habits.

If you install something like Spybot, (which I have), you may be amazed at how many places are tracking your web surfing habits and using them to their advantage.