Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Is It My Settings, the Input Meter, or The Amp?

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by mayidunk, Jun 26, 2005.

1. mayidunk

mayidunk

Jun 20, 2005
    I recently purchased an Ashdown Electric Blue 180/115. I play a Sting Sig. P-bass thru it. I recently started playing bass after playing at playing the guitar for around 30 years. I also play drums. This is my first high-powered bass amp.

Anyway, I find that the amp will fart out rather easily when I hit an open A, with the following settings:

- the amp's input level set all the way up
    - the amp's output level at around 10:00
    - the P-bass is plugged into the hi-Z input
    - the pup output on the bass is turned all the way up
    - the pup tone on the bass is set at about half way
    - the EQ on the amp is set flat
    - the deep enhance on the amp is off
    - the sub-harmonic on the amp is off

The pup on the Sting Sig. is a vintage style, single coil. It's not a spilt pup.

Now, it would stand to reason that the amp would be farting out with the settings I've described, except that the input level meter registers only 2-3 green LEDs when it distorts! It would seem that the problem may be with the input meter not reading correctly, rather than the amp distorting!

From what I've been reading about the EB 180, it should be able to handle the input being at near max, as shown by the meter, and the output being at near max as well. Can someone please help me to understand what's going on here? Perhaps one of you with the same rig can share your experience? I have a couple of weeks before I have to decide whether to return it, and I'm putting it off as long as possible as I bought it over the Web and will have to ship it back, something I'm not looking forward to.

BTW, I'm new here and this is my first post... hi!

Thanks,
    Bob