Dismiss Notice

Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Is it ok to defret a Warwick (Wenge fb?) ?

Discussion in 'Luthier's Corner' started by BoogieNight, Sep 20, 2003.

1. BoogieNight

BoogieNight

Jun 15, 2001
    Brazil
    Hello masters,

Would it be ok to defret a Warwick (wenge fingerboard)? I saw a guy selling one on the net in my country.

I never saw a fretless with wenge fingerboard. I know Warwick uses ebony on their models. Any problem with this wood for fretless? What would it sound like?

Thanks!

2. llomens

llomens

Sep 25, 2003
    Well I'm not a expert builder but I've done my share of fret jobs before. If you turn the bass into a fretless you'll get a more natural bass tone. It will sound a little duller due to the fact that the point that the string is deadened is now your soft finger as opposed to the hard fret... It's not a real hard job to do. just pull the frets slowly, as not to splinter the edges of the slots in the fboard... Then clean in up with sone fine sanding and steel wool. I usually fill the fret slots with plastic shims. Then put a finnish on the fboard. That may be a problem on a Warwick though!

Anyway, I hope this helps.

3. Tim Barber

Tim Barber Commercial User

Apr 28, 2003
    Serenity Valley
    Owner: Barber Music
    Wenge is brittle and splintery, so it may be difficult to remove the frets cleanly. But it does make a sweet board for fretless; I used it on the instrument I just finished.

[​IMG]

4. BoogieNight

BoogieNight

Jun 15, 2001
    Brazil
    Thank you guys, BUT...

Sorry if I couldn't express myself clearly in English. My question was more about the TONE and DURABILITY (supposing it's unfinished) of a Wenge fingerboard.