Is it time to leave.....

Discussion in 'Band Management [BG]' started by Steve S, Jan 17, 2003.

1. Steve S

Steve S

Jul 26, 2000
    I've been playing with a classic rock band for almost two years and wonder if it's time for me to go.

This group has been together for 10 years and added myself on bass and a lead guitar player because the former members never practiced or wanted to practice. With the two new people, we learned a lot of different songs that required more harmony because we were willing to put the time into it. Over time, I've noticed some things that have made me wonder about my future with this group.

1. The leader is a nice guy and sings most of the songs while playing rhythm guitar and some lead. He's not very organized so I started doing some of it like creating our song list and adding the keys. For the gigs, he makes up the set lists but seems to never look at the master list because he usually has at least 6 songs in the wrong key.....and this is for all of the gigs. Luckily, the other player and I knew the correct keys so always played the right thing. The leader.....sometimes we had to tell him the correct note while in the song and on the stage. He doesn't seem to hear the difference.....

2. They have continued to have some gigs with their former band members....and the leader always complains after those gigs about how the former players never practice so they always sound awful....but it's been going on for almost two years.
    They have a gig this weekend without me.

3. I love jamming with different people and creating new music. I've asked the leader to play with some other musicians but most of the time he's refused saying that he doesn't want to stand around just playing lead. He did come with me last month to a jam session with some of my friends but only played the songs that the band knows and never got into the creative aspects of jamming.