Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Is Jazz too complicated?

Discussion in 'Miscellaneous [DB]' started by Tom Baldwin, Sep 27, 2004.

1. I was listening to a CD in the car today, and as I was drawn deep into the music, it felt like I was taking a journey with the soloist. Of course this has happened on countless occasions, as has my next sequence of thoughts, which went something like this: As a musician, I can relate to this. I can appreciate the process that is involved with improvisation, both in developing that skill over time and the "in the moment" zone that you get into when you're doing it (albeit not at the level of this recording). I think to myself, I've been doing this seriously for about 16 years now. I can grasp many of the things I hear, but certainly not all. How must this sound to a non-musician? Gibberish? How much and which part of this does the average person get? I'm not trying to sound elitist, it's a genuine question. Has this music become something that only its own practitioners can truly appreciate?

Since (I assume) only musicians will be responding to this, I suppose we can only speculate, but let's speculate. Is Jazz too sophisticated to appeal to the masses? I'm not talking about "SMOOV" or "contemporary" as they've been labeled. I'm talking about stuff that is informed by, descends from, and includes Pops, Ella, Basie, Ellington, Bird, Miles, Trane, Monk, Wes, Evans, Getz, Corea, Jarrett, etc. I have always been attracted to music that is more complex in nature. Evidently I am in the minority, and I'd like to consider anyone's thoughts on why that is.

Post Away!

2. Chrix

Chrix

Apr 9, 2004
    Brooklyn